This Wide Morning

Kirsty McDuff, Bill Wright and Ewan Donald in Wake  Me Up In The Morning by Jeremy Raison
Kirsty McDuff, Bill Wright and Ewan Donald in Wake Me Up In The Morning by Jeremy Raison

I went to two plays on Saturday – ‘Wake Me Up In The Morning’ at A Play, A Pie and A Pint at Oran Mor, and ‘This Wide Night’ at The Tron.

I love the PPP audience – it’s a great mix of oldies who’ll happily watch anything and young arty types who sometimes wonder what the hell they’re watching, which is what I feel about the pies – it may be unfair, but ewwwww – what is that????

Wake Me Up In The Morning was about the affair between Marilyn Monroe and JFK, with Bobby Kennedy flapping round the side, fancying Marilyn, telling off his brother, and deep cleaning her house after she self-destructs with booze and pills.

I loved it! I didn’t think  I would – I mean we don’t know what happened back then, all we have are rumours and fantasies… I still have weird hang-ups about theatre needing to tell me something edifying – like a sermon but with swearing and melodrama – and what do I need to learn from a long-gone American President and a tragic pin-up girl? Isn’t it just vanity and delusion – us wanting to vicariously experience being rich and beautiful? Burying our real lives beneath a mountain of irrelevant role models?

It probably is – but sod it – it was great. Kirsty McDuff was amazing. She had so much energy! I believed she was falling apart… Bill Wright and Ewan Donald were perfect as the Kennedys – I wouldn’t mind if they found a way of putting it in a film – or they brought them back as Tony Blair and Alastair Campbell.

I was tired by the time I got to ‘This Wide Night’ so it made me hate the harmonica-led Indie song that covered the scene changes (it shredded my nerves) but other than that it was a very sweet and affecting story about the destructively close bond between two former jail-birds played with pathos and high energy by Elaine C Smith and Jayd Johnson, who lived in a grubby bed-sit but were looking at the stars. Or at the very least – they had stars above them.

I was harsher in a previous review – but I blame the antibiotics.

Jayd Johnson and Elaine C Smith in This Wide Night by Chloe Moss.
Jayd Johnson and Elaine C Smith in This Wide Night by Chloe Moss.
Leave a Reply

